Valentine’s for my sweethearts, on budget!

A Valentine for my girls

I don’t know about you, but I always thought Valentine’s was a holiday invented by greeting card companies and florists to soak a few more bucks out of folks after the holiday season.

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely adore flowers. I have a pretty nice garden, and I like to have the odd display of fresh cut flowers on my table from time-to-time. What I hate to see is people spending money on flowers for Valentine’s, when the prices are double (or more) what they are the other 354 days of the year.

This month, I budgeted $15 for gifts. At the beginning of the month, I went to see a friend who’d recently undergone  surgery. Naturally, I had to bring something. I didn’t think of this when crafting the budget. I did have advance knowledge, it wasn’t a surprise. Duh on me.

Why can’t I just show up empty handed? Because I can’t. It’s impossible. Initially I thought I’d bake, but I ran out of time.  Bad planning on my part.  Instead I picked up a couple of nice frizzy juices for her. The gift budget stood at $10.48.

Lucky for me, I had picked up these two porcelain mugs while on vacation over Christmas. Paid for those out of my vacation money, so they had no impact on my February budget. Both girls are trying not to have too much sugar, so I opted for the small package of Lindt hearts. Truthfully, I snuck these into my grocery budget. Finally, feeling this wasn’t quite enough yet, I opted to put a few little flowers in each mug. The florist even gave me a bit of ribbon to wrap around the chocolates.  There’s now a couple bucks to spare in the gift budget.

My local florist, which is normally quite reasonable, had also succumbed to the temptation to put prices up a little.  Not a lot, but just a little. Hey, I guess I would too if I had a captive audience waiting to buy what I had to offer. I went in thinking I’d put tulips in the mugs, but at $6.99 a bunch, I knew that was out. The bunches weren’t big enough to divide in two.  Instead, at the back of the store I found these little, assorted bouquets of daisies and carnations. They look bright and cheerful.

Hope you have a sweetheart of a day that’s kind to those you love, and your pocketbook.

Leave a Reply

