March’s first budget hit, and I’m thankful

When I pondered starting a blog about my journey to get out and stay out of debt, I wondered if I’d have enough material to write about. I’m not a financial expert. I have no investing savvy. I’d be hard-pressed to calculate compounding interest without a fancy calculator.

What I’ve realized in a very short time is this:  managing your money is a day-to-day, sometimes hour-by-hour job. It requires constant decision making, and shifting. In essence, life happens. Often, life comes with a price-tag.

Yesterday, my youngest sent me a text from school.  She said “I lost my bracelet and I want to run away”. For the record, the kid wears three bracelets. One is medic alert, one is a little silver one with her name on it that she was given as a toddler, and the other belonged to her Grandmother. The Grandmother she was named after.

This particular bracelet was given to her Granny when she was in the Women’s Auxiliary Air Force in Britain in WWII. It has her Granny’s serial number from her service to Britain, her name, and W.A.A.F. on the reverse side. This tiny silver bracelet has survived not only the war, as her Granny loaded bombs into the belly of bombers in Britain, but also a migration to Canada, and another 70-80 years.

First public appearance of the WAAF at the National Service Rally, July 1939. Photo credit: RAF Museum, UK

By the tone of the text, I knew which bracelet had gone missing. I also knew that it must have broke, because the clasp is such that it just doesn’t fall off.

I called the school and offered to put up a reward to any student who returned this bracelet. In a big school of 1800 kids, this tiny silver chain would be like finding a needle in a haystack. The school let me know that they didn’t advertise rewards to students, and they couldn’t put an announcement out that it was missing. They would, however, take the description and let me know if it was turned in.

The description part was easy. How many silver bracelets from England in 1939 are floating around a Toronto High School?

My daughter came home, absolutely beside herself with grief and guilt.

By the time school was over, I had a call from a school secretary who cheerfully said “guess what I have?” on the phone. We were both overjoyed. A young lady had turned it in. She even remarked that she has no idea how she saw it, a tiny silver bracelet in the corner of an enormous auditorium.

My daughter has crafted a thank you note, and I’ve included a small monetary reward of $40 for this unknown young lady who has rescued this piece of our family history. It was easy to part with this $40. No, we didn’t have to do that, but it seemed really important to reward the behavior of this student.

Repairing the bracelet will have to wait for some other month, but that’s fine. At least we know where it is.

I’m thankful for the good samaritans, and in particular for this young lady. The money is a small gesture compared to what it means to us.

So March’s budget is a little off kilter today. That’s ok. I have a lot of March to try and bring up the rear.

2 responses to this post.

  1. That is such a wonderful story. I’m so glad you guys found the bracelet! I’d bet the parents of the child won’t even let them keep the money. The “it’s priceless” saying may be overused but in this case totally appropriate!

    Reply

  2. Thanks! The bracelet finally made it home today. My daughter neglected to pick it up at the office yesterday. The “finder” hasn’t received the envelope with the thank you note and the money yet. Apparently it’s on a secretary’s desk and it’ll happen Monday.

    I hope she gets to keep the money. I’d like to reward such a good deed. As long as she knows how thankful we are, I’ll be happy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

