A long week, long weekend

Today is the last day of my week off my full-time gig. Frankly, I’m exhausted. Seems I had a long list of things I would have liked to have accomplished, and I haven’t even managed to get the laundry organized.

There’s still today.

The youngest is feeling guilty, thinking that she’s the root cause of the fun stuff on my to-do list still remaining undone. While I have stayed home with her, I’m still recharging some of my batteries by doing so. I’m not answering my work phone or emails. Nor am I spending much time fretting about the weeks to come, work wise. The things on my to-do list only sucked more energy out of me. There was not much on it that allowed me just to be still. I’ve been forced to be still, and it’s been good.

I’ve cancelled our plans for one family Thanksgiving tomorrow. One family member is sick, and she was my ride. There are no cars to rent in the city on 24 hours notice before a long weekend. While I’ll miss seeing my nephews, I’ll be happy to perhaps start a book, and make a nice meal here.

Oh, I cancelled those two test-drives I had booked yesterday. Why waste the sales agent’s time and mine? Who was I kidding.

My new glasses have arrived from the optometrists. I’m not convinced I can see any better with them, but I’ll wait until next week to follow-up with them.

Happy Thanksgiving to all of you who are celebrating. Safe travels if you’re going somewhere.

Until next week…

2 responses to this post.

  1. I have always felt that when I needed to be still something in my life would happen to FORCE me to be still. As moms, especially single moms, we never slow down, let alone be still so it takes either our child being ill or coming down with something near fatal ourselves for us to finally STOP for a little while. I always felt it was meant to be. So even though you didn’t accomplish those things on your list there is always tomorrow, next week, next month. Be content (I feel that you are) to be able to spend the time with your daughter – she needed you and you were there. That’s all that really matters…

    Reply

    • Thanks so much Jane. You’re right, I am content. A wise woman last week advised me that I should find a little compassion for myself. A long discussion ensued. I wasn’t sure what that looked like.

      Nothing on my to-do list was really important. What I spent my time on was. Ah, hindsight is so clear! Appreciate you stopping by Jane.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

