Happy Birthday to me!

Yep, today’s my 47th birthday.  Do you think I should start making up a new number now, a little white lie perhaps?

Today I’ll work until about 2 p.m., then I’m heading to the Spa! I have a gift certificate, and three appointments:  manicure, pedicure and haircut! Imagine, a real hair cut? Perhaps this time I’ll feel a little more like a brunette Scarlett Johansson? I’ll take a little cash for gratuities, otherwise, that lovely gift card I received in September will foot the bill for me. I’m very excited.

I did get another very unexpected birthday present from the Receiver General on Monday. Would you believe a cheque for $450?

Apparently, the Government is wanting to aid small businesses in the HST transition. They’ve opted to send a one-time cheque to small businesses (those who make under $2 million per year – yep, that’s me) to help out. Wow, thank you Mr. Flaherty. I really appreciate it!  That’s going straight to my Line of Credit.

It totally makes up for not paying off any principle in October on my Line of Credit.  BAM! $450. Love that!

It’s amazing who you get birthday cards from.  Even Home Depot sent me a birthday card. As you guessed, they also sent along a “gift”. My gift from Home Depot is a voucher (expiring end of November) to defer any payment of any amount for 12 months. Wow, nice offer. I have planned to replace the floor in my kitchen in 2011, so I could order the flooring supply now and keep it until Spring, and pay it off in full in November 2011. Nah, I think I’ll just wait for a flooring sale, which happens about every five months or so, and I’ll pay for it in full once I’ve saved the proper amount in 2011. Thanks Home Depot, you almost had me at “don’t pay for 12 months”.

The girls and I will go out Friday night for dinner to celebrate. I’ve wanted to go out for fish and chips for about a year now. Not what you’d call WeightWatchers friendly, but since it’s been well over a year since my last deep fried extravaganza, I think we’ll all survive it.

So, there’s literally frost on the pumpkin, but I’m $450 richer.  Not at all what I was expecting! I love happy surprises!

8 responses to this post.

  1. I guess I should expect something in the mail soon then!

    Thanks for the heads up

    Reply

  2. Posted by it's me, Sam on November 3, 2010 at 8:59 am

    Happy Birthday from one November baby to another! I treated my self to a massage and a pedicure on the week-end, and the massage was partially covered by blue cross! Enjoy your day of indulgence, you deserve it!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Momofthree on November 3, 2010 at 9:37 am

    Happy Birthday! I love gift cards like those. Give me an indulgent experience over ‘stuff’ anytime.
    Enjoy your day, you work hard and deserve to be spoiled!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Michelle on November 3, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    Wow, I’d LOVE to find a cheque in the mail for my freshly reinvogorated contracting business, but haven’t heard of this bonus yet. Happy happy Birthday, and here’s to a month in the black instead of red!

    Reply

  5. Happy Belated Birthday!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

