Merry Christmas to you!

As this week wears on, it’s clear to me that life won’t get much less busy, and regardless of any other event – Santa comes Friday night.  I’m really very excited.

The shopping is done. I didn’t manage to stay within my budget for Christmas shopping, but frankly I didn’t budget enough. Having said that, I didn’t go totally nuts either. I took some lessons from you smart people and used some Aeroplan points for gifts or gift cards to go and buy the things that the girls wanted.

The kittens have been spayed and neutered this month, which hasn’t slowed them down any. The price-tag for that came in just over double what I had budgeted for in January (charged to VISA). Over the holidays, I’ll have to seal the deal on my 2011 budget. It’s largely done, but it still needs some tweaking here and there.

For those of you who were wondering how my friends and I did with our 5 pound challenge over six weeks – well in those particular six weeks I weighed in EXACTLY the same as I did when it started. Right on the ounce, if you can imagine. However, in the week that followed, I lost 3.6 lbs. So, the challenge worked. Apparently I just like to keep my own schedule. With the amount of baking and chocolates that have managed to sneak into my house, I’m not sure how long that little victory will last.

I’ll be excited to do a year-end wrap up from a financial perspective. Despite the number of months that I finished in the red, or the challenges with one thing and another, 2010 has been a year of great learning and accomplishment. Thanks for being part of it!

Best wishes to you for a magical and merry Christmas, for good health, hearty laughter, lasting memories and pleasant surprises in 2011!

6 responses to this post.

  1. McMOM – glad I stumbled onto your blog this year. Hope you and your family (including your sweet little kitties) have a wonderful Christmas
    … and I look forward to lurking on your website in 2011 🙂

    Reply

  2. Hi Tracy – over the course of an entire year there are a lot of ups and downs, high points and low points, battles and skirmishes but I too can say I have learned alot and most of that has come from hanging out with a terrific bunch of bloggers, yourself included:) I wish you a season of good cheer, warm companionship with family and friends and a renewed sense of determination to continue setting new goals for 2011!

    Reply

  3. Merry Christmas Tracy! Looking forward to the 2010 wrap up and a much more flexible budget for 2011 I hope.

    Those vet bills are sneaky, never as low as you think they should be. And I think it’s a great accomplishment that you even managed to stay completely stable in weight over 6 weeks – I’m hoping for menopause someday just to stop the scale from jumping around. 🙂

    All the best to yourself and the girls in the New Year!

    Reply

    • Geesh, menopause? That causes weight stability? I’ve learned something – again!! Merry Christmas to you and the family Jacq. I think 2011 will be a great year for those of us who’ve been good planners, who’ve been reasonably self aware in regards to their finances, and for those of us who keep our minds open to learn from the wisdom of others.

      All the best!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

